Good Job, America.

 

With the results of the presidential election already done and over with, you’d expect that everyone in the nation can breathe a sigh of relief that the one year-plus ventures of campaigning, debating, and talking about politics are finally out of the way, right?

I wish.

Here’s the deal: Trump won.

I repeat: TRUMP WON.

…let that sink in for a moment.

Over a year ago, no one took him seriously. No one expected Mr. Trump, businessman and president of The Trump Organization, to have gone as far as he did with the presidential campaign, let alone won the prestigious seat in the Oval Office for potentially the next four years (and then some).

Really, what happened? How did the presidential campaign end up turning into some kind of game of name-calling and bullying of your own fellow citizens, no matter what gender, race, or sexuality that they happen to be? What ever happened to taking heavy issues of war, poverty, and racism seriously and finding ways to fix them? What ever happened to the professionalism of holding your tongue and letting others speak for a change? What ever happened to manners?

I am ashamed that American politics had to come down to this, from the highly-televised debates that made us the laughingstock of the world to the shocking results just this past Tuesday. I am ashamed to call myself an American, as I know that I’ll have to face dozens of people abroad who are interested in talking about, even making fun of, our country, when it won’t really affect them on a first-hand basis. My students and teachers have expressed to me both laughter and excessive sympathy on the situation, and while it’s tolerable for now, I don’t think I can deal with that in the long term. Imagine if your country ends getting taken over by a potential dictator: would you be laughing then?

What does this mean for Americans, like me? So much, how can I begin…

First things first, things will turn conservative. Period. And not just conservative- extremely conservative. To the point that immigrants will be forced to leave the country, along with their natural, U.S.-born children, and thereby depleting our resources for agricultural labor (which is problematic in itself, but from an economic standpoint, this will really cause trouble). To the point that Muslims and other minorities out there will face discrimination and harassment even more so than now, because Trump had made it clear that it was “okay” to do so. To the point that women will fear for themselves whenever someone wants to take advantage of them, just because “grabbing her by the pussy” is a justifiable thing to say on live-television. In other words, those who are non-white, not female, and even not LGBTQ+ will have the decades of efforts to gain their rights stripped from them in one presidential election.

For me, a first-generation Asian-American queer woman, it pains me that my efforts to vote overseas have been for nothing. As well as for the millions of people who went out to vote for the sake of preventing a huge mistake from happening. Unfortunately, it has happened, and for that all of this campaigning against *ahem* one particular candidate has been completely useless.

True, Mr. Donald Trump is the future face of our nation, but he does not represent our future. At least, not the bright, shiny idealism that comes with previously-elected presidents, whom we had come to accept regardless. I don’t think I can fully accept the fact that Trump is our soon-to-be president, let alone see a hopeful future for the United States, which is already riddled with problems (e.g. trillion-dollar debt, unresolved racial tension, refusal to control guns, etc.).

Funny enough, I had joked with my parents that, if Trump were to be president, I would not choose to live in the United States any longer. Now that it has become a reality, I am seriously contemplating it. True, it’s not realistic since I don’t have nationality anywhere else besides the United States, as well as having virtually little money to completely support myself (I’m also currently in grad school, which certainly isn’t helping my financial situation…). As I had read online, our only hope is that Trump will get impeached as soon as he is sworn into office, because I cannot fathom a “nice, moderate” Trump ever running our country in the years to come.

I could go on and on about how this is absolutely ludicrous, or even the fact that Trump isn’t even considered a true conservative, let alone Republican and is instead just making up his own rules along the way. Really, there isn’t much we can do except complain. Even though I’m currently in France and miles away from the disaster, still, it really shocked me.

Alas, we’ll have to move on, find ways to make sure that our voice gets heard, every time Mr. Trump decides to propose a law prohibiting our rights to free speech and expression. “Anarchy” is not even the closest word to expressing the state of our nation now (or soon-to-be), but until I am forced to return home after my teaching contract ends, I will continue to take advantage of this opportunity to be physically removed from the situation, even though emotionally, I’ll have to deal with it.

As I am still a mess of emotions right now, I am pretty sure that this post has a bunch of gaps and hard-to-follow sentences. Apologies for that. More lighthearted stuff to come soon on my blog, so you can look forward to them!

À bientôt et bon courage!

 

— Rebecca

14 thoughts on “Good Job, America.

  1. I do not think that America has become the laughing stock of this world. America just shows the mess humanity is in. The world is concerned and so it should be. Good piece!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve seen all the posts/news articles about Trump and a possible impeachment which would make me very happy, but then I think Pence would become president and he is super super conservative which is scary too. He believes in conversion therapy and when he was Gov. of Indiana he made it a law for women who had miscarriages or abortions to have funerals for the fetuses!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I’ve heard of the impeachment news, too. Sounds absolutely perfect, if it weren’t for the fact that Pence would become president. The way I see it, Pence is a hundred times worse than Trump, especially when it comes to LGBTQ+ and women’s rights. Super scary…

      Like

      1. Pence is 10 times scarier than Trump. I think it’s ridiculous that Trump is our president. But I also think that he doesn’t believe half the things he said during his campaign. He just said whatever would get him votes. Pence however is an experienced politician and is 100% serious about his ultra-conservative views.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m well aware of that. Next to Pence, Trump looks like an angel (or rather, just a plain idiot). Putting them together in the White House is a recipe for disaster, and I’m really worried how it’s going to play out in the next four years. Guess we’ll just have to grin and bear it!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I was in a state of disbelief when I saw the results on Tuesday morning – I imagine coming to terms with the results must be challenging for many Americans, especially after all of Trump’s highly pejorative comments during his presidential campaign. It saddens me that there are so many people that support his ideals, but perhaps I was being naive in thinking that people would be too shocked by his comments to vote for him (and it makes me fear that with him at the helm of one of the most powerful nations others may think it’s OK to be like him). For now though, I guess all that can be done is hope – by the next election, hopefully some progress will be made and he won’t have a chance at a second term (assuming he actually gets this one).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My sentiments exactly. It was so difficult to find out the results and it really scares me now that Trump will be president within a couple of months. For me having come from a liberal part of the U.S., it really surprises me that there’s just so many people in the rest of the country who are so much different from what I grew up with. Let alone the fact that 46% of the population chose not to vote at all…that was really disturbing.

      Alas, we’ll have to see what will come about in the new four years (granted, if Trump doesn’t get impeached, but then again Pence isn’t ideal as well). It’ll be rough, but we just have to move forward.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I guess the outcome comes down to a few things. America is a vast country, so views will vary enormously – and there’s likely to be a wider spectrum of views perhaps than one would find in smaller countries. Also, the American voting system is complex, and from what I’ve seen/read it’s a battle between the Democrats and the Republicans – whilst we have the same Labour/Conservative rivalry in the UK, there remains a fair bit of support for parties like the Lib Dems and the Green Party. The sad truth is that many people, especially (dare I say it) young people, feel ignored by the political system and therefore don’t see their vote as a chance for change. The turnout for the EU referendum in the UK made me feel revolted by people’s lack of interest in voting – but what wound me up more about that was how the “Leave” campaign turned into an anti-immigration one and many voters had no idea what they were voting for. I feel like Trump’s campaign carried a similar mantra, focusing on immigration and simultaneously marginalising minority ethnic groups and those who identify as LGBTQ+. Hopefully times will change for the better in due course.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Couldn’t have said it better! Really, the apathetic attitude towards voting poses a serious problem, since we’ve seen in Brexit and now this past U.S. election how badly it can affect the results. It’s absolutely crazy, and all we can really do is hope that things won’t be as horrible as they appear to be, with Trump being sworn into office in January and carrying out new policies afterwards. Thank you for your support!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

