Blogger Recognition Award!

blogger-recognition-award-badge

Greetings!

About a month ago, I was nominated for the Blogger Recognition Award from Travel-Gourmand. I’ve been following her blog for a while now, and I continue to be amazed at the amount of traveling that she has done throughout the world. From her personal life in the Pacific Northwest (a place that I’ve yet to explore) to her recent posts on her adventures in Japan, I’m incredibly jealous of all the places she’s visited, let alone lived in! Plus, her restaurant reviews from all over the world give me serious food wanderlust, and they certainly beat those on Yelp any day!

(By the way, apologies for getting to the award so late. Between posts on last year’s travels and writing up this past month’s, it can be quite stressful juggling them, but all the same, I greatly appreciate the award. Thank you- it’s really touching!).

…now on to the rules!

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  • Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to.

How My Blog Got Started

Although I’ve been blogging regularly for over three years, I’d been meaning to create a separate blog that would focus more on my travels and life abroad in France. Hence, Rebecca Goes Rendezvous was born! Although it has only been a little over half a year since I’ve started this blog, it’s amazing how it has grown so much and I’m glad to have met and followed so many other creative, like-minded bloggers as they share their love for travel, too.

Blogging Advice

1. Write what you want to write. This point is overstated, but nevertheless remains so true. If you’re blogging just to get recognition for the sake of blogging, then I’m sorry to say that your blog will not last long, i.e. be sustainable. It’s fine to start out blogging about one thing, but later drastically change topic: I’ve been there, and it took until eighteen months into one of my blogs that I finally found what I really wanted to write about, namely, a combination of traveling, poetry, and random musings. Make your blog about you, not for the sake of pleasing someone, and I guarantee you that it’ll be a whole lot easier and a more interesting read.

2. Be persistent. Now, I know that life gets in the way sometimes, and that’s okay. Maybe it’s just me being selfish, but I’ve seen too many great blogs come and go, especially when they had so much potential. I’ve seen too many bloggers give up after several months when they don’t see an improvement in their follow count, and they end up deleting and creating a new blog in hopes of “doing better.” My advice would be to keep your blog, not delete it, and continue to push through with it. No blog’s perfect, and there will always be those posts which you go back to look and cringe at. If anything, those are the best ones, for they show how far you’ve come since then, not to forget they’re sometimes hilarious!

Nominees

Thanks once again for the award! Until later, à bientôt!

 

— Rebecca

7 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award!

  1. Awesome, thanks for the nomination! i really enjoy reading about your traveling. i’ve said it before but i am so inspired by all of the places you’ve already been to, and excited to read about the places you’ll go to next :]]

    and i think you’ve written very good advice for bloggers. i like that you said to blog about what you want to blog about, and not put too much pressure on yourself to please others.

    keep up all the great work with this blog. i really enjoy it! and i’m interested in checking out the blogs you nominated as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

