Blue Sky Tag!

the 1-day (6).png

Hello!

A while back, Rosie from La Grenouille Anglaise nominated me for the “Blue Sky Tag,” which I’m honored to accept. This is the second nomination I’ve received from her: Rosie is nothing short of amazing with her blog posts about her life and travels in the UK and France, as well as drool-worthy baking recipes that I’ve yet to try my hand at. Thanks again for the nomination!

Without further ado, here are the rules:

Rules:

– Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog.
– Write a post answering their questions.
– Nominate other bloggers and write eleven questions for them.
– Let them know you’ve nominated them.

Questions:

1. If you could speak another language fluently, which would you choose and why?

For the longest time, I’ve wanted to learn Italian. Perhaps it’s because I played piano and violin as a child and much of the sheet music was in Italian (think terms like allegro, adagio, andante, etc.). Aside from that, Italian sounds like a colorful, expressive language that I would like to try learning. Considering that I know French, knowing another Romantic language would be great!

2. What do you never travel without?

Aside from the obvious like my phone (to access Google Maps, take photos, etc.), another item I never travel without is my small notebook (with an image of the Eiffel Tower- go figure). In it, I write down things I want to see and do, keep tabs on every single purchase I make for budget purposes, and even jot down some travel-based poems. I’ve had it since my first year teaching abroad, and it remains essential for me!

3. What’s your biggest pet peeve?

Being slow: I know that everyone (and everything) operates at one’s own pace, but for me, I tend to have more of a go-go attitude, so I’m always peeved when stuck behind slow walkers, waiting for slow transportation, and anything else that doesn’t seem to use time efficiently. Call me impatient, but that’s how it has been for me since I was young.

4. Where in the world would you most like to go?

I have so many places that I would still love to visit. I’m not going to pick a specific city, but rather region, as I would love to visit South/Southeast Asia. While I’ve covered a good amount of North America and Europe, I have yet to visit Asia more in-depth (aside from already having been to places like China, Japan, and Taiwan). I’m currently obsessed with visiting Thailand, Malaysia, and Singapore- they might be far off from where I live, but I would love to go there someday and experience something *very* different from what I’m accustomed to in the Western Hemisphere!

5. Are you a bookworm or a movie buff?

I would say that I’m more of a bookworm than a movie buff, but even today, I don’t read as much anymore- when I was growing up, though, I would devour books like meals (and subsequently had to get glasses because of it). I enjoy films, but I don’t have the attention span to sit down and dedicate myself to anything longer than two hours. That said, I would much stick with a book to pass the time, since I can control when and where I would like to stop for a break, that is, if the book isn’t super addicting!

6. What’s your favourite ice cream/ sorbet flavour?

I LOVE cookie dough ice cream: I like how it incorporates the creamy taste from your usual ice cream flavor to the sugary, chewy texture of the cookie dough bits inside. I really enjoy the blend of both flavor and texture, so that’s why cookie dough reigns supreme for me!

7. Which song would you pick for karaoke?

I don’t sing karaoke (rather, I don’t like it, because I’m a horrible singer), but if I had to choose, I’d go for something dorky and easy to sing along to, perhaps a current popular song like “Closer” by the Chainsmokers or anything from the 90’s like “Lucky” by Britney Spears or “Shape of my Heart” from the Backstreet Boys. Super corny, but that’s how I roll!

8. If you had Hermione’s Time Turner for a day, what would you do with it?

This is a difficult question. The knee-jerk reaction would have to be turn back time to the moments in my life when I screwed something up and wished for a redo to make things right. However, I’ve recently started coming to terms with how things work in life. In other words, it means believing that things happen sometimes, usually out of your control and under circumstances you just didn’t know beforehand, so you wouldn’t have been able to do anything about it.

To answer the question, I wouldn’t use a Time Turner to correct any mistakes in my life, but perhaps use it for a greater cause to prevent bad moments in history (e.g. the invention of firearms, slavery, the Holocaust) from happening. True, things will be much different today if I was somehow able to turn back time and help prevent them, but it would make history less atrocious and less shameful for humankind.

9. Are you an early bird or a night owl?

Early bird, for sure: I don’t mind waking up early in the morning, and I don’t have much trouble doing so. Also, perhaps it’s me getting old (as in reaching that “quarter-life crisis”), but by 22h00, I’m ready for bed. Probably just a habit thing, but I don’t mind going to bed early and waking up early. It’s rather productive!

10. Does pineapple belong on pizza? (I think so, but you may think otherwise.)

I’m completely fine with pineapple on pizza. I’m not a picky eater, and I also don’t understand why people make such a huge fuss about having something sweet and tart like pineapple on something “traditionally” savory. After all, why would we choose to invent something like orange chicken (a popular Chinese takeout) when it’s also sweet and savory? I don’t get it at all.

11. What’s the strangest food you’ve ever eaten?

I would say the strangest food I’ve tried would be haggis in Scotland, although even that didn’t turn out to be as strange as I’d thought. If anything, it had the reminiscing taste of meatloaf, which is fine. Really, I’m open to trying just about anything and everything, so I hope to continuing exploring local and national dishes in each country I visit in the world.

…and that’s about it! Some bloggers whom I’m nominating to do this tag are:

A lot of world to see

Caroline: Post-Grad

C’etait ma destinée, et oui, je m’appelle Destiny!

Flâner – Travel Noire

Present Perfect

Here are my questions for you (and considering you’ve all done teaching in France, some of the questions will relate to it):

1. What was the best thing about living in France?

2. What was the worst thing about living in France?

3. Would you choose to return?

4. Name your favorite destination you’ve traveled to this year.

5. Describe the craziest/most-memorable experience you’ve had this year.

6. Tell about the most amazing food discovery you’ve had this year.

7. Where to next on your travel bucket list (wish or reality)?

8. What are you looking forward to this summer?

9. Long-haul flights or long-haul rides?

10. Where is one place you would choose to return to again (and again)?

11. How has living and working abroad changed you?

 

— Rebecca

3 thoughts on “Blue Sky Tag!

  1. Really enjoyed reading your answers 🙂 Funnily enough, I also have a notebook with an Eiffel Tower on it that I use to jot down thoughts and notes while travelling! I’ve ended up getting into series this year, as I struggle to focus on a full-length feature film – when I’m alone my mind wanders constantly and I always feel like I should be doing something more productive… Sounds like the quarter-life crisis is hitting both of us early, 22:00 is my sort of bedtime. I went to the end-of-year gala for my postgraduates and had trouble staying awake til midnight – though they told me in class the week after that the event went on til 04:00 or so…!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I enjoyed doing the tag, so thanks for tagging me! What a coincidence that we have Eiffel Tower-themed notebooks- shows that our love for France knows no boundaries! Have yet to get into series again, so perhaps I’ll reactivate my Hulu/Netflix accounts and watch some shows this summer. Indeed, the quarter-life crisis is happening…I consider anything after 22h00 to be late. I’m not too surprised, though, that parties for “young’uns” (aka college graduates) go until the wee hours of the morning- my breaking point is around 2h00 or 3h00, so those parties aren’t for me, either!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think my affection for France is well-documented amongst my belongings; I always seem to end up with lots of French-themed bits and bobs from friends and family! I’ve been trying to watch a few French films alongside the series, though I’m finding them very hit and miss – some unknown ones are fairly good, while some well-known titles (like Le Huitième Jour) have disappointed me. A good way to keep up the listening skills though! I still have no idea how I used to do that three years ago and still function the next day. Fatigue has certainly crept in since then!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

