The Miranda Sings Award

Hello, there!

A while back, Jen from GYPSYBUS28 nominated me for “The Miranda Sings Award.” I actually never heard of it until I was selected to do the award, but all the same, I’m happy to give it a go! While I’ve heard of Miranda Sings before, I’d actually never really watched any of her videos. I do know, however, that her quirky, bubbly personality has elevated her to fame, and I suppose this post is to do the same– a bit of positivity certainly goes a long way!

Without further ado, here are the rules:

Rules:

  • Announce your win with a post, and link the blogger who nominated you.
  • Include the featured image on your blog post.
  • Nominate 10 bloggers (or as many as you can think of) and link your awardees in the post.
  • List 7 things you love about yourself. (This can be about your appearance, your personality, your achievements, etc.)
  • Don’t use negative connotation (i.e. Don’t say things like – “I’m prettier than an average person.” or “People have told me I’m smart.” You are pretty. You are smart.)

7 Things I Love about Myself:

1. I’m honest– sometimes, a bit too much! I actually used to be quite self-conscious about it when I was younger (people even told me that I was too harsh or blunt), but now, I’ve learned to embrace my honesty. Also, I personally believe that telling each other the truth, no matter how hard it can be, will make life so much less complicated.

2. Getting up early every day– even on presumably “lazy” weekends, I’m usually out of bed by 8:00, ready to start my day. I’m not that type of person who hits the Snooze button, as I believe that an early rise can produce a lot of great accomplishments in the day.

3. Being observant– if I were to make a musical analogy of my personality, I would consider myself more of the orchestral chords than the lead solo: I like to step back and take in my surroundings, rather than offer myself as the center of attention. I enjoy regarding how people interact each other, their appearances, what makes them tick, etc. I believe that merely observing how things happen gives incredible insight into interpersonal relationships, which helps in becoming a better listener and, overall, a better person.

4. Being introverted– this point goes hand-in-hand with the previous one, but I fully enjoy my introvertness. Especially in a world which prizes extroverts for their contribution to society, I sort of like how introverts are the “underdogs” when it comes to accomplishments. From Albert Einstein to Rosa Parks, having that ability to withdraw and deeply reflect on the largeness of the world really leads to great things in science, politics, art, and others.

5. I manage my work-life balance well– of course, it’s never perfectly 50/50, but I do pride myself in knowing when to work hard and when to play hard. From putting in the hours during the weekday to taking advantage of the free time on the weekends and holidays, I feel quite happy in this equilibrium.

6. I like my routine– not to say that every day is a strict regimen of work-eat-sleep, but similar to point #2, I find that waking up and doing exercises every day really makes me feel good. Same goes for taking tea with my lunch and practicing German and Italian– I find peace with knowing what to expect from my day each time. Of course, I don’t mind the occasional break from habit, e.g. vacation, Friday night out, as it allows for some contrast in my life!

7. Being a (practical) romantic– now, if you ever meet me in real life, you’d probably think that I’m very rational in thinking, perhaps even cynical at times. Deep down, though, I’d say that I’m a dreamer– a practical dreamer— who likes to daydream about “what-ifs” and “what-could-bes,” all the while knowing the reality of things. Perhaps this has assisted and inspired me to go out, work in France, and travel the world while keeping sight of budgeting for future expenses, both short-termed and long-termed.

My Nominees:

The Bookish Wanderer

My Overflowing Thoughts

Pensive Palindrome

 

Thanks for reading!

 

— Rebecca

6 thoughts on “The Miranda Sings Award

Leave a Reply

